Categories
Every Day Matters Flower Art Gardening Plants Plein Air Sketchbook Pages Watercolor

Iris in my Garden (EDM: Fresh)

Iris in my garden

Watercolor in Canson 7 x 10″ Sketchbook
To enlarge, click image, select All Sizes

I’d planned to spend my painting time in the studio today but it was too gorgeous outside to stay indoors. So I pulled up a lawn chair and painted this iris in my front yard. I drew it in pencil and then added watercolor,  all the while listening to birds chirping (and the sounds of the nearby freeway which I pretend is the ocean), with the sun shining, the bees buzzing around me and the wind blowing my hair.

These irises are heart-breakingly beautiful. They are so fragile and temporary. One day they’re proudly blooming, thrusting their strong, wild purpleness proudly up to the sun and the next day they’ve turned to a little wisp of gelatinous film, drooping sadly from their stalk. I’m glad I was able to sit with this one for an hour and enjoy it’s beauty before it’s gone.

18 replies on “Iris in my Garden (EDM: Fresh)”

Golly, I feel the same way about these spring days and my irises. I think you made the right choice to be outside with them. I’m experiencing the down side of all this lovely spring outdoorsness just now – a really oozy ghastly case of poison oak!

Like

Umm, incredible deep purple! I love to see your elegant Florentine iris and my homely, little purple-freckled one, too.
Gorgeous, gorgeous sketch, dear Jana.

Like

It is beautiful! Try this with the dying flowers. Lay some flower heads on some watercolor paper and take a brayer and run over the heads on the paper.
Pigment from the flowers leave beautiful marks on the paper. Then do a painting after the pressing.

Like

OMG, this is so beautiful! I love iris’ and when mine bloom, I will be out there with my colored pencils. My goal is to do them in pastel and watercolor, when I figure out how. Thanks for sharing this beautiful painting. Absolutely gorgeous!

Like

Comments are closed.