Categories
Drawing Every Day Matters Life in general Sketchbook Pages

Beach at Tennessee Valley, Marin County – EDM #74

Beach at Tennessee Valley cp water

Ink & watercolor pencil in large Moleskine watercolor book (above)

Beach at Tennessee Valley cp

Watercolor pencil before adding water in large watercolor Moleskine (above)

Beach at Tennessee Valley pen and ink
First drawing: Ink in large watercolor Moleskine (above)

Today Michael and I went for a hike and picnic at the beach. As usual for the Bay Area in July, it was cold, windy and foggy. I wore two shirts, blue jeans, a bandana tied around my neck, a down vest, earmuffs and Goretex parka. I needed every single item for the beautiful one mile hike to the beach. We found a nice sheltered spot along the cliffs next to a tiny cave and were about to set up our picnic when I got a whiff of something that smelled more like a bathroom than a beach. It wasn’t going away so we did–we found another spot further down the little beach that smelled the way it was supposed to–like fresh sea air and seaweed.

While we were eating lunch we watched a young mother pushing a massive all-terrain stroller through the sand while carrying a baby in a front back with a toddler running along beside her. She set up camp, unpacking a folding lounge chair and deli sandwich for herself, and food for the little ones. After a few minutes her toddler, all dressed in pink, apparently needed to use the non-existent little girls’ room so the mom pulled out a white plastic, inflatable toilet seat which she carried over to the area we had so recently vacated. She laid it on the sand and held up a beach towel for privacy. When they were done, she folded up the seat and put it back in her bag and they returned to their lunch. We felt like we were watching a weird movie. Maybe all the regulars at the beach know that spot is the unofficial potty?

Once lunch was done, I got out my pens and watercolor pencils and enjoyed drawing the rock formations and sea in ink and watercolor pencils. I’d forgotten a brush so I added the water after I got home, but first scanned it to be able to show all three versions. These are Caran d’Ache Supracolor Soft pencils. I’d tried Faber-Castell first but they were too hard and unpleasant to draw with. These apply nicely, but I’m not happy with the colors they come in. I’d rather have colors more like my usual paint palette. Watercolor pencils are easy to carry and fun to use, and remind me of magic coloring books when I was a kid that had the color impregnated in the paper and you just painted with water. But they won’t replace my paints!

By the time we started the hike back to the parking lot, the fog was gone, the sun was shining, and I was down to an undershirt and jeans with all the other gear crammed into my backpack.

9 replies on “Beach at Tennessee Valley, Marin County – EDM #74”

I was amazed to read in my new Cloudspotting book that San Francisco is the foggiest ciy on the planet! Lovely sketches and I really enjoyed your IF Sticky picture. Oh and just about everything else

Like

This is my first visit to your blog and its lovely. I really enjoyed yoru beach sketches and your pipe! The puppet is alos amazing. I’ll be back for more!!!

Like

What a lovely slice of life, potty break notwithstanding! 🙂 We don’t have the fog situation up the coast here so it was just hothothot all weekend. I love your sketches. I need to take more time (and a moleskine!) to just sketch. I’m heading to the beach on Thursday, so maybe I’ll follow your role modelling…

Like

Love these you have such a lovely free style. I am struggling at the moment! Still brings back my two Clifornian trips. hope to be back next year.

Like

[…] Jana draws and watercolors beautifully. Her sketchbook and journal blog is full of wonderful pictures — like these watchful cats. And there’s something new almost every day, from her magical Moleskine notebook. Jana lives near San Francisco. A lot of her work features what she finds in her daily life there. She’s a fine writer, too. […]

Like

Comments are closed.